Top players missing as Zimbabwe announce squad for India series

Zimbabwe have announced a 17-member team for the ODI series against India starting from August 18. Zimbabwe’s star cricketers could not return to this important series due to injuries. So Zimbabwe are not getting a full-strength team.
Zimbabwe and India will face off in a three-match ODI series under the ICC ODI World Cup Super League. Regis Chakabva, who won the series against Bangladesh, will lead the team again because of the absence of regular captain Craig Ervine due to injury.

Even in this important series, Zimbabwe are not getting several of the country’s top cricketers in the team. Moreover, the team’s biggest name in the pace attack Blessing Muzarabani will also be unavailable. Tendai Chatara and Wellington Masakadza are the other absentees. All of them are injured and out of the field. Apart from Masakadza, the other three were not even in the series against Bangladesh.

However, Zimbabwe are in a very cheerful mood. Sikandar Raza‘s career-best form has seen the team recently win the series against Bangladesh.

The series between India and Zimbabwe will start on August 18. The next two matches will be on August 20 and 22. All matches will be played at Harare Sports Club.

Zimbabwe ODI Squad: Regis Chakabva (c) (wk), Tanaka Chivanga, Bradley Evans, Luke Jongwe, Ryan Burl, Innocent Kaia, Kaitano Takudzwanashe, Clive Madande, Wesley Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, John Masara, Tony Munyonga, Richard Ngarava, Victor Nyauchi, Sikandar Raza, Milton Shumba, Donald Tiripano.


Source link :

Author :

Publish date : 2022-08-11 20:43:33

share on: